www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
In here, a total noob builds a machine
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Vacuum Forming & General Stuff
View previous topic :: View next topic  
speedofsound
Novice

PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 5:48 pm    Post subject: In here, a total noob builds a machine Reply with quote

Hello, my name is Alan. I've been scouring this forum for information regarding vacuum forming, and I'm very glad to find you guys/gals! Cool Lots of great info in here, no doubt.

Over the Memorial Day weekend I decided to build a quick, small-scale vac former for the purpose of rapid-prototyping. A large/fast setup isn't really required for my needs, but we'll see...

So far, I've spent about $120 and about 4 hours on this "experiment". I found a slightly damaged 30" base cabinet at Lowe's, and thought it would look nice in the shop, also saving me the time of building a 2x4 frame. Vacuum is a Lowe's 5.5 hp shap vac, bag removed.

Based on my reading here, I went with the single-hole platen. I used some scrap aluminum sheet from the shop, and milled some 3/4" MDF to recess the metal. Used some plastic welder adhesive to mount the vacuum coupler to the platen, then ground/sanded it flush.

Built a temp frame to test, more permanent one will be built when I get some more plastic. Size is 12 x 16 now.

Talk is great, but pics are better, right? Wink

Feel free to laugh at my "oven". I used a heat gun on the top side...

First pull!

Material is .090 ABS. Didn't pull the edges quite tight enough, but I feel the problem is *mostly* in the draft angles on the mold. I'm tweaking these today, and will try again.

2nd pull! Struggled a little bit with this one.