www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Question about the voltage calculator.
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Vacuum Forming & General Stuff
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sulla
Novice

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 7:53 pm    Post subject: Question about the voltage calculator. Reply with quote

I'll try not to fill up the forum with piles of newb posts, but when it comes to vacuum forming I am a total newb.

I am trying to understand the voltage calculator. And am trying to work out some preliminary designs.

1. What reason would I need to change the value of wattage from 2400?

2. I think I understand 'Segments' for a single coil oven, but how would I use the calculator for an oven design like Doug's Proto form machine with segmented heating elements? I am thinking that is a design I'd like to try.

Perhaps an oven of 24" x 32" or so with 5 elements.
crashmann
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a fair amount of math involved with oven design. Or you could just wing it until the circuit breaker starts tripping, then back off a bit...

The limitations:
Your AC power supply is 120 volts (at best) Stick a meter in there and see what you are actually getting. No, I'm not kidding. Set your volt meter for AC volts, stick the red in one side, and the black in the other. What do you get? That's one of three values in Ohm's Law. ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ohm%27s_law )

I (current) = V (volts) / R (resistance)