www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
HELLO
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SPACEMAN

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:26 am    Post subject: HELLO Reply with quote

HI ALL ,IM JUST GETTING STARTED IN VACCUME FORMING TO SEE IF ITS SOMETHING ID LIKE TO TAKE ON AS A HOBBY,AND I HAVE A FEW ?

WERE CAN I GET THE EITHER ABS OR ACRILIC SHEETS TO TEST IT OUT .
I DONT REALLY WANT TO SPEND A HOLE LOT AS IM TESTING THE WATERS . I BUILT A FORMER FROM AN EXAMPLE ON LINE USING A HOUSE HOLD OVEN AS THE HEAT SORCE .SO ITS ACCUALLY ONE ? THANKS A BUNCH GUYS/GIRLS

SCOTT
Fredo
Master

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WELCOME SPACEMAN, TO THIS FAR FLUNG OUTPOST! You might look at this site. www.vacuumformerplans.com , drcrash still has this site, but it's been almost two years since his last posts. Go through his posts here. He pretty much covers low budget vacuum forming very well. If you use an oven to heat the plastic, use one you don't eat out of. Its like eating off lead plates, well maybe not that bad, but bad enough...............Fredo
SPACEMAN

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WHY ISNT IT GOOD TO USE AN OVEN YOU COOK WITH ,I SEE THE VIDEOS AND THEY USE IT WHATS THE ISSUE .JUST WOUNDERING
jdougn
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:08 am    Post subject: ABS smokes Reply with quote

Welcome SpaceMan.
(spoken in my best Toy Story voiceover Very Happy )

I guess we try to have some fun and melt some plastic around here at times. Here are a couple suggestions for plastic sources.
- I use these guys. Search online for local branches across the USA: Alro Plastics
- You can order online with Professional Plastics
- Obviously, hit your local yellow pages.
- Other guys will probably list more sources