www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Greetings, and *salute*
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Introduce Yourself
View previous topic :: View next topic  
coffeehedake
Novice

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:32 pm    Post subject: Greetings, and *salute* Reply with quote

Hello all, stumbled into these forums after reading so many guides online, and buying a slew of books on vacuum-forming, mold-making, etc, that were recommended here on the TK560 boards, and elsewhere.

I'm fairly new to costuming, vacuum-forming, and the like, but after reading through the forums, I am very optimistic.

I'm 26, on the East Coast, currently working as a Certified Apple Technician / Network Admin for my local school district.

Went to school years ago for Game Art & Design, which brings me to my current project:

Right now I'm gathering materials and parts for my first homebuilt CNC Router / Mill, which I plan to donate to the school I work for after I get it up and running. I bring a lot of 3D Studio MAX experience to the table, but I'm not exactly handy with a jigsaw. Wink

I'd like to machine bucks for vacuum-forming with the machine, and I'm really excited to see that others here have had success with the process. I'm also working on a self-contained (not the kitchen oven, at the fiance's request) vacuum-former for building a TK armor set.

I hope I can lend a hand to those who already have CNC machines up and running, but may not have a solid grasp on the 3D modeling aspect. (I can definitely work with you on that) Perhaps we can assist each other to get the best results possible. Smile

If anyone is in the CT or New England area, and would like to combine efforts, I'd be glad to help out in real-life as well as here on the forums.

Glad to be here, and I really hope to contribute as much as I can. Thanks everyone!
Guru