www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
fumes? where to buy?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Vacuum Forming & General Stuff
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Banana Jack

PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 6:19 pm    Post subject: fumes? where to buy? Reply with quote

I am currently in the process of building my first vacuforming machine, just a piece of wood with a hole, a small and simple machine to be run with a toaster oven and shopvac. Next version will be bigger and with built-in heating elements.

but anyways, as i'm still a newbie i have a couple basic questions...
i will be forming lexan/polycarbonate rc car bodies, and using hdpe from milk jugs for test runs. do either of these plastics give off bad fumes when melted? (google couldn't help me here)

another thing, where is a good/cheap/reliable place to get polycarb from?
Culvan
Novice

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject: Re: fumes? where to buy? Reply with quote

Banana Jack wrote:
I am currently in the process of building my first vacuforming machine, just a piece of wood with a hole, a small and simple machine to be run with a toaster oven and shopvac. Next version will be bigger and with built-in heating elements.

but anyways, as i'm still a newbie i have a couple basic questions...
i will be forming lexan/polycarbonate rc car bodies, and using hdpe from milk jugs for test runs. do either of these plastics give off bad fumes when melted? (google couldn't help me here)

another thing, where is a good/cheap/reliable place to get polycarb from?

Another KC denizen!