www.TK560.com Forum Index www.TK560.com
Vacuum Forming, Movie Prop, Sci-fi and GIjOE Forum

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
NOVEMBER: Tip of the Month

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.TK560.com Forum Index -> Tip of the Month
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jegner
Site Admin

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: NOVEMBER: Tip of the Month Reply with quote

Wash your resin parts before painting.

This past Thanksgiving weekend, I was working on some resin parts for an upcoming Endor Command blaster. I was in a rush, so I started painting on the resin parts. A batch that had just come out of the molds. Sadly, the primer did not stick well, and bubbled up in spots. It took several extra coats, and some sanding in between the coats to fix a problem that should never have happened. Lesson learned, wash your resin parts.

Many of these resin parts you buy online are produced in very limited runs, and the caster wants maximum life from his expensive silicone molds so he like I, uses a mold release. These are usually wax based and wash off with dishwashing detergent and warm water. Be sure to dry your parts well, usually several hours before painting.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
TK 109
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, i agree. when i put on my resin parts for my kenner e-11 blaster, the parts were sanded a little, and whiped off. i have some "blubbling" on my parts, so it kinda looks a bit like a hammered finish. Sad

cheack out the counter box and magazine housing in this shot: